For a long time occupied by the traders of salt and the false - saulniers, the old place of Brûlis evokes the terrible fires of the high city in 17th century. From 1851, the mayor of Fougères suggests fitting out the old "bustle with flesh" to make a theater. The project, held in 1879, is the work of the architect Jean-Marie Laloy. The curtain gets up on the theater for the first time in 1886. Further to the bombardments of 1944, the theater closes its doors. He will reopen them only in 1946. In 1970, the curtain falls; the theater does not answer any more the new safety regulations. In 1996, a restoration as before is voted. Finally in 2001, the theater opens again its doors with the charm of its decoration of the end of the 19th century. Originally, his room of 650 places met the needs of a population mainly labor. Today, the theater account 250 places. The naming Theater Victor Hugo was given in homage to the writer who came discover the city together with his fougeraise muse, Juliette Drouet.

 

 

 

Program of the theater :
Information and reservations at the Cultural Center of Juliette Drouet at +33(0)2 99 94 83 65.



CONTACT-US

Give us a call at +33 (0)2 99 94 12 20 or  LET US MESSAGE