Come to discover the biggest medieval fortress of Europe!

Address and phone number

Place Pierre Symon - 35300 FOUGERES
Tel: +33(0)

Practical information

Rates :

- Adults : 9€
- Reduced rate (job seeker, students, children from 6 to 18 years) : 5€
- Less than 6 years : free
- Family pass : 23

- Visits for groups and guided tours of the city are also proposed

Opening hours :

- May, June, July, August and September : from 10 am until 7 pm every days
- October, November and December : from 10 am until 12:30 and from 2pm until 5:30 every days except mondays
- Closure on January
- February, March and April: from 10am until 12:30 and from 2pm until 5:30 every days except mondays (opened the 13th of april)

A little bit of history...

À the end of the 10th century, at the bottom of the valley of Nançon, on the rocky island, enclosed between swamps, settled down a simple wooden donjon. In 1166, he is destroyed by English king Henri II Plantagenêt. Raoul II reconstructs immediately a stony fortress. His adapted defenses (eleven tours, gap, crenels, machicolations, murderesses, merlons, curtains and covered way) and improved during 400 years make of the castle of Fougères a big history book and of military architecture.
The castle stays in its configuration today more or less such as it was in the second half of the 15th century.
His plan appears as a traditional organization of the medieval defenses in three surrounding walls:
- The first surrounding wall allow to filter entrances.
- The second, called farmyard, is a zone where gets organized the everyday life in peacetime and which is of use as refuge to the population in wartime.
- The third surrounding wall, the cubbyhole, dominates. It is the best defended space, supposed to shelter the donjon from where we command the castle.



Give us a call at +33 (0)2 99 94 12 20 or  LET US MESSAGE